• 1
  • 2
Sign up for an annual membership.
Students Section
Student related information and news.
Retired member news and lists.

Convention News

  • IAHPERD Convention 2018 +

    Be the Champion

    November 15 - 16, 2018

    Read More
  • 1

2018 Executive Board

President Will Navis Lincoln Elementary School wjnavis@yahoo.com  
President-Elect Mark Foellmer Wentworth Junior High gymrat2@comcast.net
Past President Brian VanMersbergen New Trier High School vanmersb@newtrier.k12.il.us  
Vice President Children Kelly Zerby Founders Elementary School kzerby22@gmail.com  
Past Vice President Children Brent Haverback Gard Elementary School bjhaverback@hotmail.com  
Vice President-Elect Children Bo Phillips Salt Creek Elementary phillips.robert@ccsd59.org
Vice President Teenage Youth Gary Heilers Glenbared North High School gary_heilers@glenbard.org  
Past President-Elect Teenage Youth Ferd Lamar Lebanon High School flamar4042@gmail.com
Vice President-Elect Teenage Youth Rachel Erb Oswego East High School rachel.erb01@gmail.com
Past Vice President Adults Jon Oliver Eastern Illinois University jaoliver@eiu.edu  
Vice President Adults Sarah Buck Chicago State University sbuck@csu.edu  
Vice President-Elect Adults Cindie Cortinas Northern Illinois University ccortinas@comcast.net
Treasurer Marilyn Bloechle   mbloechle@comcast.net
Executive Director Illinois AHPERD Kim Wheeler   iahperd@gmail.com
Adapted Representative Blake Dole Kendall Elementary School blake_dole@ipsd.org
Dance Representative Deb Nelson   Chicago State University djnstar@att.net
Health Representative Andy Milne New Trier High School milnea@ newtrier.k12.il.us
Illinois JOURNAL Managing Editor Sarah Buck Chicago State University sbuck@csu.edu
Illinois JOURNAL Research Editor Julene Ensign Judson University jensign@judsonu.edu
Editor “On The Move” Kim Wheeler   iahperd@gmail.com
Director of Advocacy Judy Tiggelaar Monroe School jtiggelaar@gmail.com
IAHPERD Lobbyists Jenni Purdue
Jennifer Ross
Advisor Judy Tiggelaar   jtiggelaar@gmail.com
Illinois State Board of Education Liaison Shawn Back Illinois State Board of Education sbacks@isbe.net
Council of Future Professionals Advisor Mary Kennedy   mjwkennedy51@gmail.com
Assistant Rita Runyard Wheeling High School rita.runyard@d214.org
Council of Future Professionals President Mike Torres Aurora University mtorres04@aurora.edu  
Council of Future Professionals President-Elect Courtney Sanchez Aurora University courtneysanchez17@gmail.com


  • Role of Physical Education in Enhancing Adolescent Mental Health - May 3rd +

    a webinar on the impact of physical education (P.E.)/physical activity on adolescent mental health and well-being. The webinar will highlight P.E. policy in Region 5 states and also showcase Illinois'
    Read More
  • 1


  • Program Enhancement
  • Scholarships
Do you have an idea for your program that will greatly benefit your students but don't have the funds needed for equipment? Apply for an IAHPERD Program Enhancement Grant and you may get the money needed to get your program going? Read More
IAHPERD scholarships that are available for Physical Education, Health Education and Recreation students who qualify. IAHPERD will award five scholarships of $1,500.00 each and one scholarship of $2,000.00 to the student who qualifies as the most outstanding applicant. Read More

District Pages

Visit specific District Pages by clicking on the District.