• 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
professional
Membership
Sign up for an annual membership.
students
Students Section
Student related information and news.
retiree
Retirees
Retired member news and lists.
 

Convention News

  • IAHPERD Convention 2018 +

    Be the Champion

    November 15 - 16, 2018

    logo
    Read More
  • 1
Current candidates (including Take One and Advanced) may contact a mentor from the list below. All mentors are National Board Certified in Physical Education. Individuals wishing more information about the process may contact a Teacher Certification Committee Member (indicated with an *)

Committe Chair  
Kim Wheeler EAYA-2004 kwheeler@altonschools.org
   
Terri Andrews, EMC* terri_andrews@ipsd.org
Barb Baber, EAYA* bcrittb@sbcglobal.net
Kathy Brinker, EMC* tbrinker@aol.com
Vicki Buerkett, EAYA Buerkevl@unit5.org
Peggy Carroll, EMC* pegcar100@aol.com
Laurie Chapman, EAYA* rlchapman1980@frontier.com
Nancee Furlan, EAYA Nancee_Furlan@ipsd.org
Beth Hjelm, EMC* bhjelm118@comcast.net
Joan Krueger, EMC saba@insightbb.com
Matthew Willey, EAYA Willeym@district87.org
Donna Young, EMC beyoung@cin.net
Chris Allen, EMC chris.allen@rps205.com
Deb Ague, EMC agueejdl@comcast.net
Matt Willey, EAYA WilleyM@district87.org
Enid Chesler, EAYA echesler@rcn.com
Donna Hayes, EMC snapps2005@comcast.net
Mary Thomason, EAYA mthomason@marionunit2.org

Purpose:
A voluntary program to recognize excellent physical education and health programs.

Eligibility:
All Illinois public, parochial and alternative schools.
Physical Education : Grades K-12
Health :Grades 5-8, 9-12

Process:

  1. Do self evaluation using grade level Criteria. Download criteria here (IAHPERD Evaluative Criteria reflecting state and national professional standards and those of the Illinois State Board of Education.)

    Why use the Criteria:

    • The Criteria are to help teachers and/or administrators develop quality physical education and health programs.
    • They have been designed for self study and self evaluation. Each grade level booklet provides a check list and includes a rating form.
    • The Criteria Serves as a basis for recognizing excellent programs in all Illinois schools at all grade levels.

    Physical Education Requirements

    • Your program must have daily physical education.
    • All students enroll in physical education classes for the school year
      (exlcudes medical excuses, health education and driver education).
    • Student fitness scores are NOT used as part of the student growth component required by PERA or used in teacher evaluations.
  2. Complete the online application (apply here)
  1. Submit a check for $150.00 (to cover expenses of the program) made out to IAHPERD and letter of support by school's executive officer.

Recognition:  If awarded, the Blue Ribbon school will receive:

  • Blue Ribbon status valid for 5 years
  • Blue Ribbon Plaque
  • Certificate presented at school function
  • Banner presented at IAHPERD awards banquet
  • Program showcased in Illinois Journal
  • Invitation to present at IAHPERD convention

 

Questions or comments? 

Conferences

  • Role of Physical Education in Enhancing Adolescent Mental Health - May 3rd +

    a webinar on the impact of physical education (P.E.)/physical activity on adolescent mental health and well-being. The webinar will highlight P.E. policy in Region 5 states and also showcase Illinois'
    Read More
  • 1

Grants

  • Program Enhancement
  • Scholarships
Do you have an idea for your program that will greatly benefit your students but don't have the funds needed for equipment? Apply for an IAHPERD Program Enhancement Grant and you may get the money needed to get your program going? Read More
IAHPERD scholarships that are available for Physical Education, Health Education and Recreation students who qualify. IAHPERD will award five scholarships of $1,500.00 each and one scholarship of $2,000.00 to the student who qualifies as the most outstanding applicant. Read More

District Pages

Visit specific District Pages by clicking on the District.